A homeschool mom skirt

Yeppers, I went there. Don’t all homeschool moms wear skirts all the time? Except maybe for me but the times, they are a changin’. My husband said he never sees me wearing anything but jeans. I suppose a denim color chambray skirt is a first step in the right direction.

This is simplicity 1717. My only issue is that my waist & hip measurements are nearly the same and apparently most women actually HAVE a waist and its not the same measurement as their hips. So, it fits well on the hips but snug at the waist.  I was really, really worried it wouldn’t fit.  The pattern calls for a regular zipper inserted, not invisible. I would change this going forward BUT it worked to my advantage as it allowed me to add an extra half in at the waist so it fits better.

image

image

I used the instructions for the “curvy” back which means rump darts 😉

image

I also made bias tape from the same fabric but opted to go crazy and use a different color all together- and I love it!

image

Less than 2 yds fabric (dark chambray) from moderntextiles.net ($8/yd) + fat quarter (green architecture) for bias tape, $2 zipper & $0.99 sale pattern. I’d say well under $20 & about 3 hours.

Leave a Reply

